WHAT SHOULD YOU DO AFTER YOUR DUI ARREST?
If you have been charged with a DUI, you are probably worried and are trying to find the right attorney for you. With Stolte Law, LLC, you will find the support and assistance you need to successfully navigate the criminal justice system.
WHAT ARE THE PENALTIES FOR A SECOND DUI?
A second DUI is classified as an "A" misdemeanor. It carries a minimum sentence of 90 days in jail and up to one year in jail. The fine ranges from $1,250 to $1,750. You must do a minimum or of five days in custody. In many cases, this includes 48 consecutive hours in jail followed by 120 hours of house arrest. In addition to the statutory fines, you could also have to pay court costs and fees, probation monitoring fees, drug and alcohol evaluation fees, urinalysis testing, and for drunk driving classes.
YOU CAN CHALLENGE PRIOR DUI'S.
Attorney Adam D. Stolte argued at the Kansas Court of Appeals that certain prior DUI's should not be counted when classifying a DUI. For many defendants across Kansas, this resulted in a severe reduction of fines, jail time, and house arrest fees and custody. Contact Stolte Law, LLC to see if your case qualifies for a reduction of charges.
YOU ONLY HAVE 14 DAYS TO ACT!
Your license will be automatically suspended unless you request an administrative hearing within 14 days of your attest. Failure to meet the requirements will result in an automatic suspension.
WHAT WILL HAPPEN TO MY LICENSE AFTER MY SECOND DUI?
If you were arrested for the second DUI in your lifetime, the Kansas Department of Revenue will begin proceedings to suspend your license. If they are successful, the length of suspension and length of license restriction depends on whether you refused testing and, if not, your BAC level.
Test refusal: 1 year suspension followed by 3 years of driving with an ignition interlock device.
BAC over .08: 1 year suspension followed by 1 year of driving with an ignition interlock device.
BAC over .15: 1 year suspension followed by 2 years of driving with an ignition interlock device.
The length of suspension may be shortened to 45 days for test failures and 90 days for test refusals.
CONACT A KANSAS DUI LAWYER.
Stolte Law, LLC focuses solely on defense of criminal charges in Kansas. That representation extends from municipal courts up to the highest court in Kansas, the Kansas Supreme Court.
If you, or someone you love, has been arrested for DUI, contact Stolte Law, LLC at 913-575-8823 today.