WHAT SHOLD YOU DO AFTER YOUR DUI ARREST?
If you have been charged with a DUI, you are probably worried and are trying to find the right attorney for you. With Stolte Law, LLC, you will find the support and assistance you need to successfully navigate the criminal justice system.
WHAT ARE THE PENALTIES FOR A THIRD DUI?
A third DUI is classified as an "A" misdemeanor or a felony. Classification depends on the particular circumstances of your prior DUI convictions. A third DUI carries a minimum sentence of 90 days in jail and up to one year in jail. The fine ranges from $1,750 to $2,500. You must do a minimum of 90 days in custody. In many cases, this includes 48 consecutive hours in jail followed by 2,160 hours of house arrest. In addition to the statutory fines you could also have to pay court costs and fees, probation monitoring fees, drug and alcohol evaluation fees, urinalysis testing, and for drunk driving classes.
YOU CAN CHALLENGE PRIOR DUI'S.
Attorney Adam D. Stolte argued at the Kansas Court of Appeals that certain prior DUI's should not be counted when classifying a DUI. For many people across Kansas, this resulted in a reduction of fines, jail time, and house arrest fees and custody time.
YOU ONLY HAVE 14 DAYS TO ACT!
Your license will be automatically suspended unless you request an administrative hearing within 14 days of your arrest. Failure to meet the requirement will result in an automatic suspension.
HOW LONG WILL MY LICENSE BE SUSPENDED AFTER MY THIRD DUI?
TEST REFUSAL: If you refused testing during your arrest, the Kansas Department of Revenue will seek a one year driver's license suspension and four years of driving with an ignition interlock device.
BAC OVER .08: If your blood or breath alcohol was over .08 but less than .15, your license could be suspended for one year followed by two years of restricted driving with an ignition interlock device.
BAC OVER .15: If testing showed your BAC level was over .15, the license suspension time will be one year with three years of driving with an ignition interlock device.
RELIEF: You may be able to reduce the license suspension to 45 days if you took the BAC tests and 90 days if you refused tests.
CONTACT A KANSAS DUI LAWYER.
Stolte Law, LLC focuses solely on defense of criminal charges in Kansas. That representation extends from municipal courts up to the highest court in Kansas, the Kansas Supreme Court.
Contact Stolte Law, LLC at 913-575-8823 to discuss your case.