Assault & Battery Lawyer in Overland Park
Aggressive Representation for Serious Charges
If you have been arrested for assault or battery, you are facing serious charges. The case could be a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the circumstances, and it could be before a municipal court judge or in front of the district court. Either way, a conviction could cost you thousands of dollars in fines, land you in jail, keep you from obtaining professional licenses or carrying a firearm, and even tarnish your reputation.
Stolte Law, LLC has the experience necessary to defend your rights and protect your reputation. Our Overland Park assault and battery attorney is committed to delivering the strongest possible legal representation to each of our clients. Attorney Stolte has a proven track record of successful outcomes in complex cases. He stands ready to provide the one-to-one attention you deserve and can help you craft a compelling case to get your charges reduced or dropped.
The quality of your legal representation could mean the difference in your case. Call (913) 270-0497 to work with a criminal defense lawyer who fights for you.
What Are the Assault & Battery Laws in Kansas?
According to Kan. Stat. Ann. § 21-5412, assault is any intentional act or threatened action, combined with the apparent ability to carry out the action, that reasonably causes an individual to fear impending violence. If a person angrily threatens to beat up someone else, that person can be charged with assault if the alleged victim reasonably believes they are in imminent danger of being struck or injured.
Kan. Stat. Ann. § 21-5413 provides details on the crime of battery. Battery involves the actual act of physical contact or intentional infliction of injury to another. This could include pushing someone, striking someone with one’s fist, or hitting a person with an object. One could even be charged with battery for angrily grabbing and ripping the clothing that someone else is wearing. In this case, the clothing is viewed as an extension of the person.
What Are the Penalties for Assault & Battery?
If convicted for assault and battery in Kansas, you could face a range of consequences, including hefty fines and extensive jail time. The specific penalties depend on the particular circumstances surrounding the crime and whether the offense is charged as a misdemeanor or felony.
The penalties for assault and battery include:
- Simple assault – As a Class C misdemeanor, simple assault is punishable by up to one month in jail and a maximum fine of $500. If the victim was a law enforcement officer engaged in the performance of their duties, the crime is classified as a Class A misdemeanor, which carries a sentence of up to 12 months in jail and a maximum fine of $2,500.
- Simple battery – As a Class B misdemeanor, simple battery carries a fine of up to $1,000 and up to 6 months in jail. Class A misdemeanors are punishable by up to 12 months in jail and a maximum fine of $2,500. Battery can also be charged as a Level 5 felony, punishable by 136 months in prison and a maximum fine of $300,000, or a Level 7 felony, carrying a sentence of 34 months in prison and maximum fine of $100,000.
- Aggravated battery – Can be charged as a Level 3-8 felony. The penalties for aggravated battery range from 7-23 months in prison and a maximum fine of $100,000 for a Level 8 felony to 55-247 months in prison and a maximum fine of $300,000 for a Level 3 felony.
Nationally Recognized Defense
Adam D. Stolte has received honors from the National College for DUI Defense.
No two cases are exactly alike. We’ll use our detailed legal knowledge to highlight the strengths of your case.
Fighting along side you every step of the way to protect the things that mean the most to you.
Avoid common mistakes by positioning yourself for the best possible outcome with timely advice regarding the specifics of your case.