1st DUI in Kansas
What to Do After Your First DUI Arrest
Most people who have been arrested for their first DUI have never been in trouble with the law before. A DUI is not a simple traffic ticket that can be handled in one court appearance. It is a complicated area of the law with serious consequences. In Kansas, you could face jail time, steep fines, license suspensions, and strict terms of probation or diversion.
If the police have arrested you for driving under the influence and this is your first offense, get in touch with Stolte Law, LLC right away. Our Kansas 1st DUI lawyer can ensure the protection of your rights through every stage of the criminal process. Attorney Stolte has many years of experience and a proven record of success. Rely on Stolte Law, LLC to help you craft a strategic defense so that you can avoid the consequences of a conviction.
How Likely is Jail Time For First DUI?
The likelihood of jail time for a first DUI offense in Kansas can depend on various factors, including the specific circumstances of the case and any aggravating factors involved. Factors can include the driver's blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level, any prior criminal history, whether there was property damage or injuries involved, and the discretion of the judge. A first DUI is classified as a class B nonperson misdemeanor. If you are convicted, you will be sentenced to between 48 consecutive hours and six months in jail and fined between $750 and $1,000.
Additional costs associated with a 1st DUI include:
- Court costs
- Probation monitoring fees
- Urinalysis testing
- Drug and alcohol evaluation fees
- Drunk driving classes
If you are facing charges for a first DUI offense in Kansas, you should seek the legal representation of a first-time DUI lawyer in Kansas, such as Adam D. Stolte, who can provide legal advice and support based on the details of your situation.
Is Your License Suspended Immediately After a DUI in Kansas?
Following your arrest for a 1st DUI in Kansas, you have a right to a hearing before your driving privileges are suspended. You must request an administrative hearing with the Department of Revenue within 14 days of the date of your arrest. Failure to meet the deadline will result in your driver’s license being automatically suspended.
Since requesting a hearing is free, there’s no reason not to. Contact a qualified DUI defense attorney today to handle the entire process for you.
What Happens on the First Offense for a DUI in Kansas?
Your ability to drive after a DUI arrest depends on whether you refused testing or, if you took blood or breath alcohol tests, what the results were.
The potential license consequences for a 1st DUI include:
- For a first DUI arrest where testing was refused, driving privileges will be suspended for one year, followed by two years of driving with an ignition interlock device.
- If your BAC was higher than .08 but less than .15, your driving privileges will be suspended for 30 days, followed by 180 days or one year of driving with an ignition interlock device.
- If your BAC was higher than .15, your driver's license will be suspended for one year, followed by one year of driving with an ignition interlock device.
- In some cases, the year of suspension may be shortened to 45 days based on a test failure or 90 days based on a test refusal.
Contact a Kansas 1st DUI Lawyer
Many attorneys try to spread their practice areas beyond criminal defense. When you work with Stolte Law, LLC, you can have peace of mind knowing our sole focus in on defending against criminal charges. With this dedication to Kansas criminal defense, Stolte Law, LLC can be depended on to work tirelessly to achieve the best outcome possible in your case. Our experienced DUI defense lawyers know the Kansas DUI laws and can help guide you through the process to protect your interests.