Overland Park 3rd DUI Attorney
Defending Clients Against Penalties for a Third DUI Conviction
In Kansas, driving under the influence crimes are categorized according to the offender’s number of previous offenses. Under these laws, a second DUI is penalized more harshly than a first DUI, a third DUI more than a second DUI, and so forth. A third DUI can be classified as either an "A" misdemeanor or a felony. Classification depends on the particular circumstances of your prior DUI convictions. A third DUI carries a jail sentence of 90 days to one year and a fine of $1,750 to $2,500.
Unfortunately, the consequences do not end there. Following a third DUI in Overland Park:
- Your license will be suspended.
- The duration of license suspension will depend on whether you took a test to determine your blood alcohol content (BAC) level and what the results of the test were.
- Those who have a BAC over .08% could face one-year driver’s license suspension to be followed by two years of restricted driving with an ignition interlock device.
- When a person’s BAC level is over .15%, the license suspension time will be one year followed by a three-year ignition interlock device requirement.
In some cases, the suspension period may be reduced to 45 days for those who took a BAC test or 90 days for those who refused testing.
Contact Stolte Law, LLC today at (913) 270-0497 to work with an experienced 3rd offense DUI lawyer. We fight hard to keep you out of jail and on the road.
Challenge Your Prior DUIs
By the time you’ve reached your third DUI, you may feel like all hope is lost in getting your charges reduced. However, with Stolte Law, LLC on your side, we can help you show the court that one or more prior convictions should not be counted in classifying your DUI offense. If successful, this can reduce the amount of time you spend in jail as well as the fines you are required to pay.
14 Days to Request an Administrative Hearing
As with a first and second DUI, when you are arrested for a 3rd DUI in Kansas, the officer should give you a DC-27 form. On the back of the document are instructions related to requesting an administrative hearing. This hearing is for the purpose of preventing the suspension of your license. A failure to meet the 14-day time limit will result in the forfeiture of your right to an administrative hearing and the automatic suspension of your license.
What to Do After a 3rd DUI Arrest
Immediately following an arrest for a 3rd DUI offense, you should contact Stolte Law, LLC for a free consultation. We can clearly explain your rights and options and help you make an informed decision about how to proceed. Our goal is to help you achieve the best possible outcome in your case. Whether your case can be settled with a plea bargain or must be taken to court, we can provide comprehensive legal support during every stage.
Nationally Recognized Defense
Adam D. Stolte has received honors from the National College for DUI Defense.
No two cases are exactly alike. We’ll use our detailed legal knowledge to highlight the strengths of your case.
Fighting along side you every step of the way to protect the things that mean the most to you.
Avoid common mistakes by positioning yourself for the best possible outcome with timely advice regarding the specifics of your case.